The Commissions of the VDR are responsible for handling matters in specialised areas. The Commissions and their members are appointed by the Board of Directors. Within these commissions, experts from member shipping companies exchange views with each other and VDR staff members on important current issues from their respective fields of shipping. In addition, the commissions prepare and draft statements, positions and resolutions to be adopted by the Board of Directors.

Nautical and Technical Commission

Chair: Christoph Gessner

CPO Containerschiffreederei, Hamburg 

Legal and Insurance Commission

Chair: Thomas Mansfeld

Hapag-Lloyd AG, Hamburg

Social Security Commission

Chair: Arnold Lipinski

Hapag-Lloyd AG, Hamburg